Mansell Shatters Record, Larson Gets First Win, Pierce Claims Northwest Title

August 3, 2015 – Monroe, WA – Cooler temps plus bigger track equals hot fast racing action. Twenty seven drivers competed in Sunday's Northwest swing's finally on the 5/8 mile oval of Evergreen Speedway.

British Columbia's Mat Mansell set the pace during practice by completing laps under the existing track record of 18.595 set by Jeff Montgomery in 2013. In qualifying Sierra Jackson was third to qualify and set the mark to beat by running an 18.475 second lap and setting a new track record. DJ Hamilton was next out, although he did not break Jackson's new record he ran an 18.579 which was faster than the old record. Several qualifiers later Aaron pierce set the record for the 2nd time of the day with an 18.362. Matt Mansell pulled a high pill for qualifying and was 24th of 25 qualifiers. He blistered the track with an 18.003, 125 mph, second lap, shattering the old record as well as the two new records set that day. Darren Yates qualified with a lap time of 18.558 making 5 cars quicker than Montgomery's 2 year old record.

Mansell draw of an 8 for the invert put Ron Larson and Matt Mansell on the front row of the 30 lap main event. Larson took the early lead over Hein. The 2 ran nose to tail with Hein attempting several times to pass on the outside with Larson pulling away each time. The two encountered slower cars by the 6th circuit and Hein made the most of the lapped traffic and completed the pass of Larson in turn 4 as the completed the 8th lap. Hein opened up a lead until lap 15 when in traffic Larson completed the pass for the lead. Hein spun in 4 on lap 18. It was originally reported he needed to change a right rear and was given time for the change. In according to the official KOTW rulebook Hein was penalized 1 lap for the tire change.

On the restart Larson pulled away from the field, Pierce now in 2nd was set to battle Larson for the lead, however a collapsed nose wing early in the race hindered his progress. He also lost the center nut of a tire and spun on the restart and hitting the wall in 4. Pierce was pushed to the pits and his race was over.

Warf and Robert Stout now had their sights on Larson for the restart but Larson had other plans and pulled away from the field. Jackson over took Stout and was chasing down Warf for 2nd, with less than 10 to go John Tharp and TJ Thorn got together in to both flipping into the grass between the 5/8's and 3/8's track in turn 2. Both drivers were ok but they could not continue to race.

Larson was on a rail for the last few laps increasing the gap on every pass across the line. He received the checkers 3.8 seconds in front of Warf. This was his first King of the Wing Main Event victory. Hein crossed the line behind Warf but was being scored 1 lap down and Jackson received the 3rd place trophy. Within the 10mins of posting results Hein's crew protested the 1 lap penalty. There was no tire change, the shock was changed. After inspection of shock and tire KOTW Officials removed the 1 lap penalty and Hein was awarded 3rd place.

Pierce's consistency with high qualifying and heat race finishes as well a 1st and 2nd place finish Thursday and Saturday with an 11th on Sunday gave him a 4 point advantage over Ron Larson to claim the Northwest Region Championship. Warf was 3rd thirteen points behind Pierce.

QUALIFYING:

14 Matt Mansell 18.003 (Track Record), 1 Aaron Pierce 18.362, 25J Sierra Jackson 18.475, 91Y Darren Yates, 45 Davey Hamilton Jr 18.579, 22A Bobby Santos 18.643, 98H Matt Hein 18.821, 12 Ron Larson 18.877, 91 Bryan Warf 18.981, 23 Robert Stout 19.127, 22L Rich Larson 19.244, 40 Cody Gerhart 19.502, 7 Randy Dubois 19.511, 65 TJ Thorn 19.614, 3 Robert Beck 19.634, 44 Todd Coleman 19.719, 36 Ryan Burdett 19.742, 98P Ken Hamilton 20.318, 22 Reese Goetz 20.343, 4B Greg Middendorf 20.491, 21 Aaron Willison 20.540, 69 John Tharp 20.705, 32 Mitch Holte 20.839, 63 Tyler Muse 21.312, 68 Mike Anderson 23.324, 51 Jayme Barnes NT

Heat 1:

Hein, Stout, Yates, Mansell, Goetz, Tharp, Coleman, Anderson, Dubois

Heat 2:

Pierce, Thorn, Burdett, Ron Larson, D. Hamilton, Rich Larson, Barnes, Holte, Middendorf

Heat 3: Beck, Warf, Jackson, Gerhardt, Willison, K. Hamilton, Santos

Main Event:

Ron Larson, Warf, Hein, Jackson, Burdett, Stout, Willison. Hein, D. Hamilton, Anderson, Thorn, Pierce, Barnes, Rich Larson, Middendorf, Holte, Yates, Gerhardt, Beck, Goetz, K, Hamilton, Mansell, Coleman, Muse

The "King of the Wing" Series is designed to work with all teams, promoters, fans and sponsors, to strengthen pavement Winged Sprint Car racing from coast to coast, working directly with all existing pavement Sprint Car Series. Long term plans for the Series are to provide a competitive rules package that can apply to all Sprint Cars and create race events that truly allows the promoters and racers to build bigger venues, show the sponsors and fans the world's fastest short track cars, and to promote some of the best short track drivers competing head-to-head no matter what part of the country they are from or what Series they run on a regular basis. This is the only pavement Sprint Car Series that features competitors from all across the United States and Canada.