

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Matt Hein Wins \$10,000 in The Rory Price Memorial

July 24, 2016 – Monroe, WA The Royal Purple Synthetic Oil® King of the Wing National Sprintcar Series contested the second race of the Northwest Tour at the Evergreen Speedway, but this was no ordinary event. This was the Rory Price Memorial with a \$10,000 to win purse.

Thirty-three cars from across the US and Canada signed in to compete for the richest prize in pavement sprint car racing. Californian Eric Humphries set quick time on the 3/8-mile track at 13.737 (98.275mph). Humphries was followed by: Jeff Montgomery, Matt Hein, and Thursday's winner Davey Hamilton Jr.

Four Heat races and a B-Main would determine the twenty-four starting cars, and highlights of both the Heats and the B-Main would be provided by Canadian Ron Larson who came into tonight with the national points lead in the Royal Purple Synthetic Oil® King of the Wing National Sprintcar Series. Larson crashed out of his Heat with Greg Middendorf. Larson started 12th (last) in the fifteen lap B-Main just to carve his way to the front and win.

Even with the 8-pill drawn for the invert, it didn't take long for six-time Rory Price Memorial winner, Matt Hein to take the lead. When the first caution came out fifteen laps into the race for a spin by Tristen Spiers, Hein had a sizeable lead.

However, as the laps and additional cautions progressed, the 33a of Montgomery looked stronger and stronger... Montgomery took the lead as it looked like the tires began to fade on Hein's 98 machine.

On a restart with ten laps to go, Hein and Montgomery staged an epic side-by-side fight for the lead. With the white flag flying and Hein having the inside position, the two cars made contact on the backstretch that resulted in Montgomery spinning off and retiring from the race.

Reverting to the last completed lap setup a two-lap shootout with Humphries and Hamilton Jr. now in second and third, respectively. However, Hein would not be challenged again and would cruise to his seventh win (and sixth in a row) in the Rory Price Memorial race. "Jeff (Montgomery) had a better car, but we down inside him on that restart. I hate it we made contact because we get along real good, but there was \$10 grand on the line ~the most money we race for all year and it was just hard racing," said Matt Hein in victory lane.

In addition to the extra \$7,000 added to the normal \$3,000 Royal Purple King of the Wing National Sprintcar Series purse by the Rory Price Memorial Foundation, they also acquired contingency awards assigned them to various main event finish positions. Recipients of these contingency awards went to Eric Humphries, Robert Stout, Gjerness, Tyler Muse, Thomas Richardson, Bert Johnson, Jake Mann also received small gift from the RPM foundation.

About Calumet Specialty Products (parent company of Royal Purple®):

Calumet Specialty Products Partners, L.P. (NASDAQ: CLMT) is a master limited partnership and a leading independent producer of high-quality, specialty hydrocarbon products in North America. Calumet processes crude oil and other feed-stocks into customized lubricating oils, solvents and waxes used in consumer, industrial and automotive products; produces fuel products including gasoline, diesel and jet fuel; and provides oilfield services and products to customers throughout the United States. Calumet is based in Indianapolis, Indiana and has fourteen manufacturing facilities located in northwest Louisiana, northwest Wisconsin, northern Montana, western Pennsylvania, Texas, New Jersey, Oklahoma, eastern Missouri and North Dakota.

About the King of the Wing Series:

The "King of the Wing" Series is designed to work with all teams, promoters, fans and sponsors, to strengthen pavement Winged Sprint Car racing from coast to coast, working directly with all existing pavement Sprint Car Series. Long term plans for the Series are to provide a competitive rules package that can apply to all Sprint Cars and create race events that truly allows the promoters and racers to build bigger venues, show the sponsors and fans the world's fastest short track cars, and to promote some of the best short track drivers competing head-to-head no matter what part of the country they are from or what Series they run on a regular basis. This is the only pavement Sprint Car Series that features competitors from all across the United States and Canada.

Results:

Qualifying: Eric Humphries, 13.737; Jeff Montgomery, 13.846; Matt Hein, 14.120; Davey Hamilton Jr., 14.150; Greg Middendorf, 14.494; Todd Coleman, 14.234; Robert Beck, 14.271; Kyle Vantrieght, 14.286; Ron Larson, 14.312; Kyle Alberding, 14.333, Tony Thomas, 14.358; Andy Alberding, 14.361; Sierra Jackson, 14.371; Bryan Warf, 14.375; Robbie Price, 14.382, Tristen Spiers, 14.419; Jason Conn, 14.483; Robert Stout, 14.611; Ken Hamilton, 14.611; Cameron Nessinger, 14.792; Tom Baker, 14.814; Randy Dubois, 14.850; Mitch Holte, 14.986; Levi Rose, 15.029; Jake Mann, 15.043; Joshua Gjerness, 15.193; Thomas Richardson, 15.284; Danny Matthews, 15.331; Bert Johnson, 15.394; Garrett McLees, 15.405; Tom Root, 15.549; Tyler Muse, 15.671; Russ Root, NT



Heat 1: Spiers, Vantreight, A. Alberding, Nesinger, D, Hamilton, Rose, Matthews, Muse

Heat 2: Price, Hein, Thomas, Beck, Holte, K. Hamilton, T. Root, Richardson

Heat 3: Stout, Montgomery, Warf, K. Alberding, DuBois, Coleman, McLees, Gjerness

Heat 4: Jackson, Conn, Humphries, Baker, Mann, Johnson, Middendorf, Larson

B-Main: Larson, Holte, Rose, Matthews, McLees, T. Root, Gjerness, Muse, Richardson, Johnson, Mann

Main: Hein, Humphries, D. Hamilton, A. Alberding, Warf, Stout, Larson, Vantreight, Thomas, DuBois, Jackson, Conn, Baker, Price, Nessinger, Rose, K. Alberding, Montgomery, Mathews, Holte, Beck, Spiers, K. Hamilton, Coleman